glaucomaechopark1
Limonada_FrescaSV400005
nathan4molly_kim_lions_02
SV400118Picture013
for the sweet toothnixon
recorddaisies
"Whose got the Crack?" by The Moldy Peaches was the song that set my office rolling this morning as it blared, uncontrollably out of my computer.

This was not good. This was not good at all BECAUSE there is no music playing in this office EVER. Just on the other side of my cubicle wall lies the Call Center for Amgen's Medical Information Hotline, so chemo nurses and doctors could have been on the other end of that telephone line saying that their patient has had an adverse reaction to Nuelasta or something else urgent, and were answered back not with medical advice from licensed HCPs but the clanging melody of "Whose got the Crack?"

It was all due to a malfunction, I had scarcely inserted the disc into the drive and immediatly music came blasting out. Not even the first track of the CD came out but a track from somewhere in the middle and it wasn't the beginning lines of the song that everyone on the second floor heard but some lines from somewhere in the middle.

It was Phillip who saved me. He is studying to be a computer tech and at the first hint of trouble he was at my side screaming, "Task manager! End task! END TASK!"

But the task would not end,...no it would not.

Even once the CD was no longer in the drive the task would not end. Amgen's Medical Information team was treated to most of that song. It came to an emergency shut down. When the task manager failed, Phillip panicked and pressed the power button to bring the incident to an end.

When I looked up from the drama everyone was gathered at the threshold of my cubicle holding back their laughter and asking with concern what had happened. I could hear the call reps giggling quietly to themselves, unsure of how to react. I have not yet been up from my chair but I am not embarassed, it's hard to be when in the midst of such comedy. The worst part is that now I have to be nice to Phillip for the rest of the day.

I have now made the volume control window a standard feature on my desktop.

This is all Mike and Kim's fault. They are the ones who got me hooked on those Moldy Peaches. I should have listened to Fred when he said they were no good.

The Moldy Peaches I mean.

21 August 2002 - 9:19 AM

previous * next

archival * revival * profile * host * Kim S * C Clark * Dan D * Lorus B

Oh, brother.