glaucomaechopark1
Limonada_FrescaSV400005
nathan4molly_kim_lions_02
SV400118Picture013
for the sweet toothnixon
recorddaisies
Ha ha ha...those East Coast people I work with and their summer clothes. I have been at my job through Fall and Winter and everyone traisped around the office in dark colors only, often wearing scarfs indoors when the weather is not very cold.

Last week the weather turned fantastically hot and ... BLAST! everyone is in light pink capris and flip-flops. I don't mean to ridicule other cultures, its just funny to me because I was raised in the oppressive Southern Californian climate where maybe 1 month out of the year total the temperature dips a bit into the 40s. For me the distinction between seasons was clear, half of the year I'll want to wear a sweatshirt and the other half not so much. It makes for a smaller, better circulated wardrobe.

"I should stop pointing fingers reserve my judgement of all those public action figures, the cowboy (and/or football coach) presidents. So loud behind a bullhorn, so proud they can't admit when they have made a mistake."

While poison ink spews from a speechwriter's pen, he knows that he don't have to say it so it don't bother him. 'Honesty' 'Accuracy' are really just 'Popular Opinion.' And the approval rating is high, so someone's gonna die. ABC, NBC, CBS. Bullshit. They give us fact or fiction? I guess an even split. And each new act of war is tonight's entertainment. We are still pawns in their game. As they take eye for an eye, until no one can see, and we must stumble blindly foward, repeating history. Well, I guess that we all fit into your slogan on that fast food marquee: Red blooded, White skinned, oh and The Blues. I got the Blues! I got the Blues! That's me!"

by Molly B. hahahaha

yeah right...by Conner Oberst.

The other week when Brian and I were at an anti-war protest I was yelled at by one of the friendly neighborhood patrolmen for having a sign outside the designated protest sign area. Very gruffly the patrolman said to me, "Ma'am we don't allow signs on this block. You're going to have to put yours down."

To which I answered, "______________," and continued to walk down the street with my sign up.

"MA'AM...I SAID NO SIGNS!!"

To which I answered, "______________," and continued to walk down the street with my sign up.

"DON'T MAKE ME COME OVER THERE." At first I thought he was bluffing because those cop/soldiers would rather die (in the name of all that is free and just, of course) than break formation as they line the streets to stop democracy before it starts.

But when I yelled back, "FUCK YOU." And Brian asked, "What about all these signs?" Referring to the endless rubble of plastic light up signs for fast food, liquor and dry cleaning that line that particular area of Sunset Boulevard, that cop/soldier he did break formation, yes he did, in a fake run/stomp, like you do when you are playing with a dog, and reached to draw his gun...I took him a little more seriously and waited until I was in a non-sign-free area to lift it up again.

09 April 2003 - 11:37 PM

previous * next

archival * revival * profile * host * Kim S * C Clark * Dan D * Lorus B

Oh, brother.