glaucomaechopark1
Limonada_FrescaSV400005
nathan4molly_kim_lions_02
SV400118Picture013
for the sweet toothnixon
recorddaisies
When I was younger I used to have much more to say to a diary. I would just sit down every night and write for pages and pages. Its was all very self-indulgent of course, complaints on what assholes everyone was and so forth.

These days 10 YEARS LATER (as I was realizing last night, more on that in a second) this is the only journal I keep and most of it is again general complaints but mostly insincere entertainment. Is it that I don't have so much of my attention turned inward or is it that I have less personal thought happening in my mind. The latter is most likely true, a typical day for me has me talking to at least 75 different people, either by placing calls or receiving them, for at least a few minutes. I am in constant communication with people who I have never seen, who I probably never will see who help do my job. So much random, business related information runs through my mind. I'll be talking to a friend of mine and they'll ask me, "oh, so what's going on with such and such or so and so?" and inevitably I will answer with, "Oh! Did I tell you about that!?"

"Duh, Molly B. how would I know to ask??"

Its a good point but really what that question means is that I have forgotten that I have ever mentioned the topic. I keep alot of things to myself and often forget when I have made a piece of information about myself public.

The overall point is, as I've gotten older there has been less expression of my introspection. Its nice actually, that those thoughts of self-hatred have been displaced by less harmful things, like getting live reviews and remembering to arranging for photo passes and guest list space. They're not gone of course, they've just taken less prominence and I think it has done me well.

Now, about being old. Last night after helping Lauren and her boyfriend with their move to their beautiful little house near the beach in Ventura we went to Lamppost Pizza in Newbury Park where I worked from May 1995 to August 1997. I told the kid at the counter, "Oh, I worked here for a few years way back when."

"Oh, yeah? When?"

I was initially shocked by that statement as I was practically a local celebrity (known as "sweet pea" no less) when I worked there but I forgave him for his faux pas and told him, "Oh, from 1995 to 1997."

"Oh, wow! So just about 10 years ago..."

It seems like just yesterday when I would show up for work 15 minutes late smelling of chlorine, sex and illicit substances but no, it has been a nearly a decade since I first began there. I'll say it again, I am old as dirt.

You know, they still keep a stack of to-go boxes at the bar for convenience. That was my idea.

The secret to being a local celebrity?? Somehow, sometimes the register would malfunction and the total might be...I don't know, $0.00.

24 January 2004 - 1:43 PM

previous * next

archival * revival * profile * host * Kim S * C Clark * Dan D * Lorus B

Oh, brother.