glaucomaechopark1
Limonada_FrescaSV400005
nathan4molly_kim_lions_02
SV400118Picture013
for the sweet toothnixon
recorddaisies
I am thinking of becoming officially celibate. Chances are it won't last but I'd like to ride it out and see where it takes me, you know? I think it would be really impressive to be able to say to someone, "Well, we'll have to think of something else to do. I'm celibate you see." Ha!

In other news, today when I was taking Timmy back to Burbank we drove past the Mulholland Memorial fountain near Griffith Park and there were all of these kids swimming in it!

It made me think of something that Isaac Brock said the other night at the Modest Mouse show. He was spouting out musings that were disappointingly, nowhere near as eloquent as his lyrics, mainly about the city of Los Angeles. He said, "you don't have to live here, you know. You CAN move, there ARE other places to live."

Yes, that is true, I thought, but why wouldn't I live here?

Life is pretty good here for me. It gets to the point where I feel like it is so enjoyable that pretty soon something will happen and it will all get fucked up. I am superstitious even typing about those words. But I guess if I lost my job and my apartment and my car and my friends or something like, or what Johnny Tremain's mother might have referred to as having God turn his back on me, I have a plan B. Instead of going and digging up some silver chalices that are proof that I am a relative of the richest family in town, I would move to somewhere quaint and nice, maybe Ann Arbor, Michigan. I've heard that's a nice place. I would try to get a job at the local newspaper and I would go around reporting the good news. Like today for instance, I could have taken a picture of those children swimming in the foutain and I could have written a factual little caption to go with it. Maybe it would say, "With temperatures being in the high 80s today, local area children enjoy a refreshing swim in the Mullholland Memorial fountain." News like that, peace of mind/quality of life type news, fluff, if you will. It could be a good life.

I'd like to live in a place I can get to know because that's all that is there. Its hard to get to know LA because its like, 20 little cities under the umbrella of a really vast metropolis. Most of my friends live in different little cities than I do, so it would be rare that I would run into one of them just randomly on a Sunday afternoon while running errands (ha! like I run errands.)

But the thing is lately I have been running into people that I know from time to time. Its one of the nicest feelings I know of.

Tara, who lives in San Diego and is a student says that it seems like my life would be hard to keep track of. I rationalize that since my job, though it may be stressful and hectic, isn't very intellectually taxing, I can manage the vastness of LA a little better. I am sure that if I were pre-med it would be an entirely different story.

28 March 2004 - 5:17 PM

previous * next

archival * revival * profile * host * Kim S * C Clark * Dan D * Lorus B

Oh, brother.