glaucomaechopark1
Limonada_FrescaSV400005
nathan4molly_kim_lions_02
SV400118Picture013
for the sweet toothnixon
recorddaisies
So today I went for my second interview at the other place. I think that was the best interview I've ever had as far as my performance went. The interviews I had with my boss were mostly him discussing what he saw on Sept. 11, 2002 from his apartment that was across the street from the World Trade Center and me being completely interested.

I think that the only times I ever truly feel that I know what I am talking about is when I am talking about tour publicity. That's what this interview was about, I listed off the papers in different regions that I thought would be receptive to this label's artists and discussed the different personalities of the critics I know. They seemed to eat it up and the fact that I can list things off from memory seemed to make them feel at least confident in me. I guess that's the most important thing here, confidence.

I've definitely put in enough time at this, definitely have dedicated myself to it and shed enough tears to at least be confident at tour press. Its not something that changes, once you understand what its about, what makes the difference is your level of confidence.

If I got the job, I would not only be the tour publicist, I found out today, but I would be the press department. They said that eventually they plan to expand the press department and that I would run it. IF I get the job. Because while I may think that I really charmed them with my disgustingly excessive knowledge of America's daily and weekly newspapers and their staff, most people seem to be hired at random due to superficial details. I didn't stress out over my appearance. In fact, I hardly wore makeup. I wore mostly black. I just tried to keep things simple, why call attention to extra details? Its hard enough controlling things like my eye contact and the squirreliness.

The major sacrifice here would be the youthfulness of Warner Bros. There are so many young people and the bands, for the most part, are very young as well. There would be less of social scene and I think the weekly marriage proposals from varying artists would probably cease. This is something I will have to learn to live without I suppose. Other than that it would be the same old story. Call writer, talk about band, send music, call back 3-5 days later, receive the answer: preview, review, live review, interview, listing, mention...or nothing. Call band/management with the news, set up interview. Repeat.

We'll see what happens. This is actually a really bad time to leave my boss. Maybe the executives would reconsider the way the press department is organized though I wouldn't expect that to even be discussed at any point within the next 5 years. Maybe they'll make an exception for me since I am the brattiest assistant with the lowest of amount of tolerance for unfairness and frustration. Its not because I am super amazing, its just because I acknowledge the bullshit.

I've always acknowledged the bullshit, sometimes it helps and sometimes I think it would help more if I didn't.

29 July 2004 - 8:09 PM

previous * next

archival * revival * profile * host * Kim S * C Clark * Dan D * Lorus B

Oh, brother.