glaucomaechopark1
Limonada_FrescaSV400005
nathan4molly_kim_lions_02
SV400118Picture013
for the sweet toothnixon
recorddaisies
So if a man with eyes like Vanessa Williams, curled eyelashes and all, wearing a women's wig approaches you in an alley in Downtown Los Angeles and asks you, "hey, do you want a haircut?" what do you do?

Well, if you're me, you say yes. I mean, I did want a haircut. I've been leaving messages with my hairstylist for two weeks to no avail. I merely answered honestly, but also, it should be noted, without thinking or realizing what I'd be agreeing to.

So I stood there in the alley with onlookers walking by while this man from Zimbabwe cut my hair and also connected with me telepathically, or so he said. "I hope you don't mind," he said, "but I'm going to be finishing your sentences for you." He said it was the special connection between the Pisces and the Taurus. I do like Taurus' but...I don't know that I go around sponataneously connecting with them telepathically. Horoscopes are fun but I don't always agree when people turn the Zodiac into a lifestyle. Pagans.

There was someone else there too...not someone I personally could see but this man from Zimbabwe certainly could. It would seem the invisible person had questions for me that my "stylist" didn't think were very appropriate questions. He explained to his friend, "No...no. NO! I'm not going to ask her that. I'm not. Why? Why do you want to know that? No, she's too sweet, I can't. Okay, just hold on. Hold on." And then he would apologize for having been so harsh. They seemed to have kind of a disfunctional yet charming relationship.

* * *

An hour later I was in tears. No mirror had been offered to me and all I saw were huge tufts of my hair blowing around the alley. A homeless man approached and said he would draw our portrait. My stylist interupted his conversation long enough to shoo the man away, thankfully. The whole situation became completely overwhelming. I grabbed my head away from the man and said, "I'm sorry, I can't handle this. I don't know what's going on."

He insisted I looked beautiful and apologized for taking too long but explained that each and every hair has a purpose...and that purpose was me.

I relented to the rest of the haircut and when he finally offered me a mirror that, from the thin razor blade slices in it, clearly served more than one purpose for the man from Zimbabwe and his imaginary friend, I had an adorable haircut that should have cost me $100.

It just goes to show...um, well, it goes to show something. I'm just not sure what.

16 January 2006 - 1:16 PM

previous * next

archival * revival * profile * host * Kim S * C Clark * Dan D * Lorus B

Oh, brother.