glaucomaechopark1
Limonada_FrescaSV400005
nathan4molly_kim_lions_02
SV400118Picture013
for the sweet toothnixon
recorddaisies
What is the protocol on seeing a Westside yuppie in an Audi with dry cleaning hung in her back seat driving West down Sunset from the direction of the Little Joy without the car's headlights switched on? It is okay to flash or are we afraid she's going to shoot us in the face? I mean, yes it's Echo Park but she is obviously a Westside yuppie. An Audi? Dry cleaning? I mean, not that I don't dry clean my clothing but I hide that shit in my trunk, have one ounce of pride, woman!

Tonight as I was carting laundry home from the FSB (a sad sentence to type because the FSB used to be my home) I erred on the side of 'don't flash,' if only because I had precious cargo - at least three pairs of jeans. Ten dollars says there was a 50/50 chance I would have been shot in the face regardless.

And so it comes to pass that no posse member will inhabit the FSB after this coming Saturday. I shed a solitary tear at the thought but know (and knew for that matter) that one day I would say goodbye to the FSB once and for always. Maybe I just didn't realize it would be so soon...

No more back steps, no more S, R, W, or D. No more dirt yard. No more Bacon or Tamago or artistic neighbors who always accepted each other but never KH and I. No more restaurant flyers being hung on both the front and the back door knobs because the FSB lays so expansively in the rough that no common pamphleteer could ever fathom it to be one residence all its own.

I'll get through this. I will be strong and I will get through this but for tonight...and just tonight, I will mourn the loss.

Life will go on, however not unchanged.

11 July 2006 - 12:12 AM

previous * next

archival * revival * profile * host * Kim S * C Clark * Dan D * Lorus B

Oh, brother.