glaucomaechopark1
Limonada_FrescaSV400005
nathan4molly_kim_lions_02
SV400118Picture013
for the sweet toothnixon
recorddaisies
So the landlord has cut a hole in the kitchen wall and installed a door that leads into one of the neighbor's bedrooms which is a strange idea, I think.

It was also strange that I was home 10 minutes before I noticed and it was only the smell of paint that tipped me off some kind of change had taken place here.

The door actually looks nice, though. It's funny, there are really only a few whole walls in this apartment and the site of the new door was one of them. So it should bother me that it is now interrupted with a weird door. The bare wall was ugly though. The overhead lighting bore down on the high gloss paint creating a disturbing glare. (I'm very sensitive to such things. It bothers me that landlords from Irvine, a city in Orange County pre-planned in the late 80s, who very likely live in pre-fabricated housing where everything is "new," have the gall to chop up a beautiful relic of an under-appreciated but vital era into poorly appointed apartments with doors to nowhere. He and Mrs. Winchester may have a thing or two in common. Maybe spirits told him to do it.)

Anyway, like I said, I like the door I guess. It's like a confession from the landlord that this space is not as it was originally intended. Almost an apology for it but not quite. We know better than that.

04 March 2007 - 8:41 PM

previous * next

archival * revival * profile * host * Kim S * C Clark * Dan D * Lorus B

Oh, brother.