glaucomaechopark1
Limonada_FrescaSV400005
nathan4molly_kim_lions_02
SV400118Picture013
for the sweet toothnixon
recorddaisies
I think I like this newer job I have. In the practical ways it's the right place to be, in the fun, familial ways it's not. I'm no longer sequestered in a way way too bright basement in utter silence like a test rat so THAT'S nice but on top of that I'm liking my new "collegues" as well - suddenly everything has taken on sophisticated titles. Constantly, "assets" are being "leveraged" and "asks" are being "aggregated" but I think I know what all that means and in the cases that I don't I can normally guess right.


At my old position, a common way to obtain work materials would be to stand up and yell across the room through a mouthful of Pop Tarts, "Give it. I need it like, right now. I'm totally serious." And when there were too many requests made upon one person, they would say, "Dude, if one more person asks me for something today I'm going to fucking freak out" followed by stomping up the hand-fashioned stairs with no railing and out into the back alley to smoke. Here, they say back, "In the future, please aggregrate your asks with the rest of your department."


When a "collegue" would like to go to lunch with me they send me a meeting request in Outlook that will note not just the day/time but the actual location and "leaving" is now called "being off-site."

At the last place when I wanted to go to lunch with someone I would stand up (again) and yell-whisper to the room, "secret tacos" and those who were interested would follow.


Not sure which I prefer yet. I do know this, it's different.

02 May 2008 - 12:01 PM

previous * next

archival * revival * profile * host * Kim S * C Clark * Dan D * Lorus B

Oh, brother.