glaucomaechopark1
Limonada_FrescaSV400005
nathan4molly_kim_lions_02
SV400118Picture013
for the sweet toothnixon
recorddaisies
Dear John McCain - By choosing Sarah Palin as your running mate, I don't think you could have said any louder just we a simpleton you think I am. I'm now supposed to ignore all of the many issues of this race because you invited a woman to run beside you?

Clearly it's meant to seem like a bold, progressive step "outside of the box" signaling that you embrace women and welcome them into the democratic process. Really, this is not exactly revolutionary. In 2008, the 21st century mind you, I sincerely hope you don't expect me to be impressed you managed to swallow the idea of a female running mate. Europe has been doing it for DECADES.

And Sarah, what was that speech you gave this morning? A direct study in political pandering? I'd have felt less disrespected if you went up there and said, "I'm a woman too! Vote for me!" At least that's honest but you stood up there thanking Mrs. McCain (like she had anything to do with the decision. please) and tritely addressed the nation with platitudes about glass ceilings, the anniversary of women�s suffrage, Geraldine Ferraro and Hilary Clinton's graceful presidential campaign. At that point, I think you could have paused and said, �Former Hilary supporters vote for McCain because I just gave her a compliment!�

How sexist and condescending.

I�d also like to call attention to the inexperience. First, had anyone ever heard of this person before today? John McCain, are you asking us to vote for a COMPLETE stranger to run our country when something happens to you? Someone we have literally NEVER in our lives heard of in any capacity. Republicans, kindly do not claim that this person has more experience than Joe Biden because she is governor of Alaska (I had to look that up by the way.) The ENTIRE population of Alaska is about 700,000 people. Total. There are classrooms in Los Angeles with more students!

I shake my head, I shake my finger but I'm not outraged because as an Obama supporter from the beginning, I am not in the least bit threatened.

Good luck with all that,
Me

29 August 2008 - 12:23 PM

previous * next

archival * revival * profile * host * Kim S * C Clark * Dan D * Lorus B

Oh, brother.