glaucomaechopark1
Limonada_FrescaSV400005
nathan4molly_kim_lions_02
SV400118Picture013
for the sweet toothnixon
recorddaisies
On the way back from visiting my parents tonight I noticed that it must be stand in the middle of the street and have a fist fight night here in L.A. because I saw at least three parties of people doing just that. I think this was because Coldplay was at the Hollywood Bowl tonight. You know how those rock bands tend to draw a rowdier crowd, yes?

I had a great time visiting my parents. My dad was in comic mode, cackling on the couch, eating baby carrots and making my brother blast David Cross from the antiquated family home stereo system. Of course during this hour or so the TV was not turned off, only muted. This way Fred was free to interject at any time to tell us which new television shows were sure to fail.

He also seems to have designed a new hairstyle for himself. He has a hair texture similar to my own, which is alot of fine, wavy strands that really can hold some volume if not controlled/styled properly depending on the desired look. This he has fashioned into what looks like a cropped beehive. Its very mod actually. I like it but hairstyle is such a delicate topic with men so I thought it best to leave it alone since I like it and I want him to keep doing it.

After we were done listening to what Fred would allow us of David Cross my dad went to the garage to fish out a packet of xeroxed photographs that his old Vietnam platoon had sent him. Just recently they had thrown a reunion in his honor, of course, he had wanted nothing to do with it. He came back in a rage and threw the papers down on the floor shouting to my brother (and not me for some reason,) "DO I LOOK OLD?!?!? To me my dad really looks the same as he has always looked, I don't think he has aged since 40. Apparently, most of the men in his platoon were younger than him and now he claims they all look like they're in their 70s. Then he sat down again and started ranting about how they won't let go of the past and how he wishes they would stop calling him. Fred and I thought it would help if we made fun of their poorly designed facial hair, shiny bomber jackets and commented on how our mom was much better looking than the wives in the pictures. Listening to us make fun of other people always seems to please him so soon he was back to comic mode, yelling at the dog and praising the delicacy that is mayonnaise.

A good time was had by all.

In other news, the Cat Power record that KH was so gracious to burn for me is definitely deserving of all the praise it has received in every single freaking music magazine. In the case of Cat Power, I wouldn't advise believing the hype necessarily but I think it would be fine to investigate it.

I called Tresa to tell her about it and she told me about a flower she'd heard of that was called, "Love in the Mist" during the day when it is blooming and "Devil in the Bush" at night when it closes up.

Well isn't that just so fucking poetic???

Fuck. Shit. God Damn It.

02 June 2003 - 10:57 PM

previous * next

archival * revival * profile * host * Kim S * C Clark * Dan D * Lorus B

Oh, brother.