glaucomaechopark1
Limonada_FrescaSV400005
nathan4molly_kim_lions_02
SV400118Picture013
for the sweet toothnixon
recorddaisies
I can't believe that I am on vacation but I really am. I can't believe how instantly my perspective has improved since I've realized this.

I got home from work tonight at 9:45 and was laying on the floor watching TV when it hit me. I was faced with a decision, either go out drinking, or stay home and sleep. Work-a-day me said to stay home but, I didn't have to, it was the strangest singular moment in my life. No, that's an exaggeration. Maybe I am making too much of this, I am just very excited to see what this break will bring. It has been 1.5 years since I started my job. When I was new I was stressed out all of the time, constanly calculating how many mistakes I made each week, noticing the days where I got by without being yelled at. I think that is good, I think that meant that my boss trained me well, he might not be the most rational person I have ever met but I guess he knows what he's doing. Its just easy to get lost in a job and to become your job, esp. one that is so demanding of my time and energy.

Its better than having a pushover for a boss, who lets you off easy, that's all I know. The new girl has got problems for that reason, her boss lets her sit on Friendster all day long, IMing. Its insane! I wouldn't dream of going on Friendster at work and she does it openly, WITH HER FEET UP ON THE DESK while she's doing!! She's nuts. There is word that she might have gotten a little too friendly with one of the male artists at the Christmas party as well!! Actually the artist called the head of the department on her cell phone over the weekend and told her as much! She denies but...everyone was there, it was pretty nakedly apparent what she was doing.

Such a gossip I am. I wasn't much interested in work gossip until just recently though. There are so many affairs happening at my office!! Not to mention my own so we won't.

Gosh, tonight I went to probably one of the diviest bars I've been to in Hollywood to date. The jukebox kept playing really great old standards and...Dolly Parton. Everyone there seemed to be in need of something or another. One man was collecting money to get something to eat, then 10 minutes later he was collecting money to get something for his roommate to eat. Then some other guy stumbles out onto the sidewalk, in need of a "real cigarette," or so he told us as he put his rolling papers away in his pocket. Not interested in rolling his own I guess. Oh, and there was the guy named Rob who claimed to be of Spanish decent. Well he definitely had a lisp. He was in need of validation, character-wise as well as appearance-wise. The fifth time he touched my leg I was ready to take his arm off. Later he revealed that he was a singer-songwriter. I laughed and said, "How unusual!!" I didn't know how else to explain my laughter, I couldn't think of anything else to say. I am kind of a dick I think, but also, you weren't there so who are you to judge??

Then I was walking from my car to my apt. when I remembered one of the books I was most fascinated by when I was younger. It was called, "Mr. Tom" I believe, and I think I did a book report on it. It was a longer book for whatever reading level I was at, maybe 300 pages, about the 1st world war. Mr. Tom lived in England somewhere in the country when the children were being evauated from the cities. He was kind of an intimidating person in much the same indifferent way my dad is and it seemed unlikely that he would allow one of the children to come stay with him but he chose what could have been the runt of the litter to come stay with him in his little cottage. I think they even referred to his house as a cottage in the book. Anyway, the little boy goes to live with Mr. Tom in his cottage and the author goes into great detail about how the house and how it is arranged, I could probably draw the floor plan out for you right now if you wanted me to. My favorite part about the book was the description of the house. Its an alright story, somewhat predictable, but the house is so intriguing.

Also, that book is where I got the line, "Sorry, my mother sews me in every winter."

Yes, that line; you know, the one I say so much??

16 December 2003 - 1:08 AM

previous * next

archival * revival * profile * host * Kim S * C Clark * Dan D * Lorus B

Oh, brother.