glaucomaechopark1
Limonada_FrescaSV400005
nathan4molly_kim_lions_02
SV400118Picture013
for the sweet toothnixon
recorddaisies
Tonight I took my "grandmother" (who is actually my dad's father's second wife but who we love like she has been in the family all along)to the opening night of Chicago at the Pantages theater. How great it was!! The tickets, of course, were arranged by Fredsy through his show, so I wasn't entirely the hero of the evening, I was just the one who made herself available.

I am lucky to have someone like Moneka (the grandmother) in my life. She offers a sophisticated perspective that always makes me feel a little less insane. We drove past the CNN building on our way to theater and I mentioned how the war protestors demonstrated in front of the building in criticism of their war coverage and she responded by telling me that the American news media was lying to us! How exciting for me to have someone in my family who validates me like this.

As I was driving her back to Thousand Oaks we were able to discuss how the play was making fun of the American judicial system as well as the news media. A conversation like that can't just happen to anyone, especially not with a person of at least 65 but she happens not to be an American and therefore can have a clearer picture of what actually goes on in the world.

Also, on the way back here to LA something reminded me of a T-shirt that I used to wear to soccer practice in high school that said, "Fuck the world" on it. No wonder the coach always said I had a bad attitude. It also could have been the sticker on the back of my car that said, "I hate girls."

hahahaha, boy have I lightened up since then, eh?

09 January 2004 - 12:14 AM

previous * next

archival * revival * profile * host * Kim S * C Clark * Dan D * Lorus B

Oh, brother.