glaucomaechopark1
Limonada_FrescaSV400005
nathan4molly_kim_lions_02
SV400118Picture013
for the sweet toothnixon
recorddaisies

Although, in my lifetime, I have had all the popular lullabyes sung to me, no musical composition will ever be as soothing to me as "How Deep Is Your Love?" by the Bee Gees.

Some may cringe at the vision of John Travolta in a jumpsuit when they hear it, but I only think of riding in the car with my family across a southwestern state like New Mexico in the middle of the night with the windows down and my dad's only cassette tape playing. He recorded it from his vinyl records and it had blocks of songs from his favorite musicians, The Beach Boys, The Bee Gees, John Lennon, and versions of "Tennessee Stud" "House of the Rising Sun" and some song about Winkin' Blinkin' and Nod. On our long car trips, he would play it to stay awake when he thought we had all fallen asleep though I would usually be pretending just to avoid calling attention to myself. A shy and bashful duckling, I was. (I still like to stay up into the early morning hours just to feel alone and know that I can do anything I want, uninterrupted, until I pass out fully dressed with the lights on. It's a way to enjoy my time without the anxiety that I might have to talk to someone.)

I think the B-side of that tape had selections from Eddie Murphy Raw on it.

I like how all bosses refuse to accept that the post office is closed on certain holidays.

10 October 2005 - 9:39 AM

previous * next

archival * revival * profile * host * Kim S * C Clark * Dan D * Lorus B

Oh, brother.