glaucomaechopark1
Limonada_FrescaSV400005
nathan4molly_kim_lions_02
SV400118Picture013
for the sweet toothnixon
recorddaisies

Though it's been a while since my last yoga outing I've been wanting to try Circle Yoga downtown. So this morning I went to the 7am class. It was kind of nice actually, given that there were only two of us with the instructor. I am all stretched out now and think I will go back on Thursday. The only drawback is that it delayed my arrival to work by 45 minutes, but then, that's not really a drawback now is it? Biding my time drinking coffee and chatting at MASA also contributed to the delay.

I guess I'd like to see the whole aesthetic of yoga change a little bit though. For a while I have avoided yoga just because I feel like if I started going too often my whole identity would be co-opted. I would do away with the the non-denominational altars and definitely the gong and either have nothing or flowers in their place. The recorded bird and water sounds kind of depress me because they actually underscore that those sounds don't occur naturally in downtown Los Angeles. Of course they don't but still...that's like when you know you look horrible and everyone keeps calling attention to it by saying you look beautiful. So I might replace the soundtrack with some late 70s psychedelic metal, turned down low of course. Other than that, I love it. Love the wood floors, love the old timey cement walls, love the absence of mirrors, I even love the patchouli incense because secretly I love patchouli and not so secretly I love sandalwood, which is another popular yoga scent.

================

More and more I've been thinking that someone should do a mash-up of 'Winds of Change' by The Scorpions and 'Dust in the Wind' by Kansas. They sort of run together in my mind anyway so why not just make it one song? I think whoever does this should build the new song around the whistling part from the Scorpions.

11 October 2005 - 10:10 AM

previous * next

archival * revival * profile * host * Kim S * C Clark * Dan D * Lorus B

Oh, brother.