glaucomaechopark1
Limonada_FrescaSV400005
nathan4molly_kim_lions_02
SV400118Picture013
for the sweet toothnixon
recorddaisies
My rebuttal, A hem.

Of course, of course, of course...the skyrocketing rent in Echo Park is unfair. But am I a landowner? No. Far from it. It's a triumph I own my car.

Of course, in a way, I am imposing my white middle class culture on the neighborhood by drinking Americanos from the white people coffee shop but do I not buy the gas for my car from Magic Gas? Do I not eat at least three meals a week at the Brite Spot? Do I not purchase alcohol from the Beer Wine and the House of Spirits? Do I notThat's attend the Lotus Festival? Do I not pay my rent to a Chinese landlord? Yes to all. Did I recently shoot and kill a 15 year old? No.

I support and respect this neighborhood so much for what it is and what it used to be and what it could be. Maybe I'm here to take advantage of the lower rent but I really was planning to go to Silver Lake "where I belong" before I fell in love with Echo Park. With those being my truest feelings, how could I be wrong to live here? If the tables were turned can I be sure that the very same people who critize me would worry if their street address was moral? I would bet not. Let's not joke ourselves, the USA is a grab what you can kind of place.

For me, gentrification is not a question of morality, it's a result of larger circumstances. Geography: Echo Park is all of 5 minutes outside of Hollywood, CA entertainment capital of the world. White people. Rich, white people. We haven't tromped into an untouched sanctuary, we drove 5 miles up SUNSET BLVD.

I work in Hollywood, commend me for cutting back on my commute. We have the worst air quality in the country. (This sounds pulled out of an ass but it's a tangible, legitimate point.) All things being equal, which they aren't, however much our government may insist that they are, I am a regular Jane Citizen making a practical choice based on her economic class and financial situation. I'm not opposed to living amongst other races and shouldn't that be a good thing? Criticize me for my romantic little desire to sit on a vintage couch, listening to records on a faux-vintage record player inside a Spanish-style bungalow from the 20s.

Superficial, yes. Sinister, no.

22 December 2005 - 5:18 PM

previous * next

archival * revival * profile * host * Kim S * C Clark * Dan D * Lorus B

Oh, brother.