glaucomaechopark1
Limonada_FrescaSV400005
nathan4molly_kim_lions_02
SV400118Picture013
for the sweet toothnixon
recorddaisies
Last night after midnight rydazz, after visiting The Roost and The Little Joy and riding all over this city, once we ended up at Daniel's house with a small smattering of people recruited from The Little Joy, a "high school drop out" couch was established and I was told I couldn't sit on it, not even as a high school drop out sympathizer. Oh how I wish I had been more conscientious about objecting to high school. Things would be so different...

PHOTOS! This was the best I could do from the seat of a moving bicycle. To see it in real life is actually pretty beautiful. Especially going some of the hills in the parts of downtown that aren't lit. All you see are 400 blinking red tail lights as though everyone is riding off into the sky with E.T. in their baskets.

SV400101

SV400100

SV400095

And: diary, you should have seen the LA River in the full moonlight. It looked like sort of a river with about two full feet of water in it, if not more! There was even some type of wetland developing complete with trees and reeds and ducks. By the time we reached the bike path by the river most everyone else had already continued on to the party so while Daniel and The Budge chatted and rode at a leisurely speed, I peddled as fast as I could down the path until my face was so cold my temples ached.

I felt like a character in a book about the out of doors.

We also rode past The Cornfield which I hadn't actually seen in person yet. Also amazing. I wished my camera battery hadn't died by that point because I had climbed up on the railing of the abandoned overpass we stopped on and had a view of the entire cornfield with the train yard and industrial Boyle Heights area beyond it. So beautiful, I wish you could have been there. Climbing down from my perch, however, I'm really not sure if the person I saw laying there on the slope in the scrub brush was...well, nevermind. Their eyes were closed at least.

I have to cycle over there again today, I think. It's just too wonderful a thing to ignore any longer.

14 January 2006 - 2:35 PM

previous * next

archival * revival * profile * host * Kim S * C Clark * Dan D * Lorus B

Oh, brother.