glaucomaechopark1
Limonada_FrescaSV400005
nathan4molly_kim_lions_02
SV400118Picture013
for the sweet toothnixon
recorddaisies
Well today marks day 2 of the new job.

The day went as follows:

I woke up a 6:24 and reset my alarm to go off at 6:45. I had been up late last night drinking and swimming with Kim and Brian so I felt sort of, ah...crappy, I guess. I didn't get up until around 7:00. Then I rushed around the house like a crazy person trying to find a decent suit of clothes and finally got in the car around 7:47.

I sped through the neighborhood at about 50 mph and actually drove around another car that was going too slow, (25, MAYbe 30.) I am pure evil behind the wheel of a car.

I arrived at work four minutes later. The lights had been in my favor.

I was informed upon entering my section of the building that tomorrow I will receive my very own cubicle AND telephone extension. Yes!!! Yes world I am moving up. There is also word that next month the entire office will be rearranged so that everyone's cubicle will double in size!! Yes, it is like a dream, you know? It really is...Oh and another thing, there are showers and nap rooms on my floor, you know, just in case.

Later on, around 10, I was starting to feel my involuntary mid-morning nap coming on so I went to the kitchen to see if I couldn't whip up some kind of energy potion. I can now report that it does not taste good to mix Hot Chocolate packets half-caff work coffee.

I spent the rest of the morning until lunch trying to hide my bad breath while at the same time discussing radical politics with the two other temps. Who woulda known that two random guys from Simi Valley, CA could be so enlightened.

For lunch I enjoyed seared halibut with corn salsa over a bed of wild rice. It cost me $4.95, 5 something with tax. I asked myself, "Have I found utopia?"

Anyway, blah blah blah, long story short, I came home, now I am tired. So there, this is what work does to a person like me. I find myself listless, literally, I find myself to be without any list, at all.

I remember reading somewhere that if people want to change things why not start by making sure that their workplaces reflect their values. With Amgen most things reflect my values, aside from the whole biotech thing that's going on over there. And I did hear from my neighbor that when things get busy over there, they'll sequester you in the basement until everything gets done.

Red flag: No one in California has a basement.

Another red flag: At least four people on my block work at Amgen. I keep looking around for my copy of ENGSOC.

13 June 2002 - 10:07 PM

previous * next

archival * revival * profile * host * Kim S * C Clark * Dan D * Lorus B

Oh, brother.