glaucomaechopark1
Limonada_FrescaSV400005
nathan4molly_kim_lions_02
SV400118Picture013
for the sweet toothnixon
recorddaisies
It's a strange feeling to be liberated from the inherent chauvinism of my working class brothers. Maybe this is what I always have sought while rummaging through the ranks of people who started somewhere near where I did, but who were able to slip through the cracks of the status quo.

I still have a ways to go in my uprooting from the all-consuming hell of suburban values. These are my default values, what I rely on when I am outside my realm of comfort (i.e. understanding.) But they are just the old standbys and one day will need to be completely shed if I ever plan on becoming a decent human being. In the process of this uprooting, like with any, there is a certain amount of necessary growing pains and guilt that I must endure. The good news is that I am finding these feelings to be completely manageable.

Yesterday Kim H., Sean R. and myself were faced with the dilemma of where to eat after the beach. We opted for Cupid's hotdog stand on Ventura Blvd., situated right across the street from a freeway on-ramp and in the back lot of a carwash. And although it was quite a high profile joint, we were free to be our normal, wound-up selves and it was a lovely, lovely afternoon.

Six years ago I would have NEVER hung out in The Valley except to go the 99 cents only store, or else I would have blamed it on someone else. The Valley was just an excessive distance of wasteland that stood between me and Hollywood. It still kind of is but I do feel, that in accepting these charms of The Valley, I am putting myself on the road OUT of perdition. So think about THAT, Tom Hanks and Paul Newman!

14 July 2002 - 1:11 PM

previous * next

archival * revival * profile * host * Kim S * C Clark * Dan D * Lorus B

Oh, brother.