glaucomaechopark1
Limonada_FrescaSV400005
nathan4molly_kim_lions_02
SV400118Picture013
for the sweet toothnixon
recorddaisies
As sworn: more...

On Saturday Fred and I were expected in Catalina and found that we were unable to book reservations on the standard Catalina Express fleet. Instead we were overflown to the lesser known, Catalina Classic fleet. This turned out to be a slower variety of boat and much less modern in accomodation. It was reminscent of a refugee boat I once saw on the telescreen.

Our particular boat was named the Catalina Countess. For refreshment Fred and I were lucky to enjoy styrofoam encased freeze-dried soup noodles flavored with shrimp powder which nicely complimented our day at sea. Within 30 seconds of receiving his soup ration, Fred, attempting to liberate the freeze-dried bay shrimp in his cup by throwing them over the side of the boat ended up throwing them only as far as the middle of the ship's main outdoor walkway. I spent the rest of the two hours watching these shrimp be ground into the non-slip surface by slip-on athletic shoes with hologram designs

Once on the island Fred and I demanded to be fed and watered and were, at a lovely restaurant fashioned out of a former gas station. I do love Catalina, don't get me wrong, I think I would even like to live there someday. But this particular time of year brings alot of crowds to the island and I just can't hang.

The rest of the afternoon was spent kayaking and snorkeling. I love the idea of snorkeling, being able to breathe and see underwater but being right near the surface and the shoreline where you are safe from fish and seaweed. I think I am one of the laziest creatures alive because my day of snorkeling entailed floating about 5 feet off shore staring at the bottom of the ocean and being washed back and forth by the waves. Sometimes I am amazed at my ability to completely zone out.

Oops! I think I hear my mother calling...yes, yes its something about dinner...maybe it is ready.

29 July 2002 - 6:43 PM

previous * next

archival * revival * profile * host * Kim S * C Clark * Dan D * Lorus B

Oh, brother.