glaucomaechopark1
Limonada_FrescaSV400005
nathan4molly_kim_lions_02
SV400118Picture013
for the sweet toothnixon
recorddaisies
Most film directors, musicians, artists, writers, activists and any other creative person one who considers themself to be punk rock might admire did not get that way by sitting around in other people's apartments pissing their time away, going out to dance clubs etc, etc.

In fact most of them probably spent a lot of time in their home working on developing a skill or talent they found in themselves. Or creating something even if it wasn't great and one day they learned to be great. Or they went around helping other people be good at something. Or they found an area of influence on an issue they cared about.

There is a difference between being a slacker and between being a member of the avant-garde. I am all for exploring yourself. I live my life generally without agressively criticizing how other people choose to spend their time. There is also a big difference between being 20 and being 25.

There are things that I believe that I don't need to showboat around town. I'm not a materialist, I am not a mooch. I am someone who always wanted to take care of herself and who has acheived that. I am also someone who believes in something other than corporate culture and I am now confident enough to step out of that security to try something new. I am someone who has so little faith in our government and democratic process that I have never even been able to claim a party affiliation until this last election when it we might have slowed the turbine that is destroying the world. Strength in numbers.

But no, that doesn't matter. Because I don't have the luxury of being a college student anymore, I don't have the luxury of my parents money flowing in and because accepting my parent's money or living in their home at the age of 23 made me profoundly depressed.

But if being a slacker is this romantic lifestlyle then get me a drug store in Alabama to stand next to and sip beer in front of and a pair of cut off short shorts because that would accomplishing about the same thing as being a squatter in LA.

15 December 2004 - 10:12 PM

previous * next

archival * revival * profile * host * Kim S * C Clark * Dan D * Lorus B

Oh, brother.